SKU: BOD-1426

Aesop's Fables is backordered and will ship as soon as it is in stock.

For 25 centuries, the animal stories which go by the name of Aesop’s Fables have amused and instructed generations of children and adults alike. They are still as fresh and poignant today as they were to the ancient Greeks who composed them. This beautifully illustrated edition contains some of the best-loved fables, including the Boy who cried Wolf, the Lion and the Mouse, the Goose that Laid the Golden Egg, the Hare and the Tortoise, and The Town Mouse and the Country Mouse alongside many of the lesser-known tales.

These timeless stories are illustrated with 35 wood engravings by Agnes Miller Parker (1895–1980), one of the greatest British wood engraving artists of the twentieth century. Parker was influenced by the art of Wyndham Lewis and the Cubist and Vorticist movements which flourished in the period between the wars. Her distinctive work is strikingly stylised and deceptively simple. Commissioned in the 1930s by the fine press publisher, Gregynog Press, for their edition of the work, these exquisite wood engravings inspired by the fables are among Parker’s finest.

  • Hardback
  • 208 pages, 242 x 190 mm
  • 35 black & white illustrations
  • ISBN: 9781851245376
  • Publication November 2020

Related products

View all
Write Cut Rewrite: The Cutting Room Floor of Modern Literature
Coming Soon
Twelfth Night
Coming Soon
Twelfth Night
Kafka: Making an Icon
Coming Soon
Ferdinand Bauer's Remarkable Birds
Coming Soon
Left Continue shopping
Your Order

You have no items in your cart