Jane Austen: Lady Susan, The Watsons, and Sanditon

SKU: BODS-102488
We have run out of stock for this item.

The incomplete fictions collected here are the novels and other works that Jane Austen did not publish.

The earliest story follows Lady Susan, a sexual predator and a master of manipulation with villainous tendencies. The Watsons follows a tale of riches to rags, whereby the formerly rich Watsons languish in a forgotten village, anticipating suitors that never arrive. Sanditon is a satirical tale on the niche marketing campaign waged by investors on the latest South Coast resort. Experimental and bold, these unfinished works extend beyond our typical expectations for a Jane Austen novel.

This compendium collates Austen's unpublished works, written from her late teens to the year she died, at aged forty-one. From adult fiction, poetry among other related writings, this collection calls into question our modern image of the romantic novelist and reveal the development of her writing style.

  • Paperback
  • 368 pages, 196x129mm
  • ISBN: 9780198835899
  • Publication 24th June 2021

Related products

View all
Pathless Forest: The Quest to Save the World's Largest Flowers
A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man
Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
Left Continue shopping
Your Order

You have no items in your cart